Monroe County, Ohio

History and Genealogy

Monroe County History

Counties of Ohio

Monroe County
Established: January 29, 1813
County Seat: Woodsfield Village
Land Area: 455.6 square mile
Named For: Secretary of State James Monroe
Included: Parts of Belmont, Guernsey, and Washington counties.
Eastern Border: The Ohio River

Franklin Township Bethel Township Malaga Township Seneca Township Summit Township Wayne Township Washington Township Perry Township Benton Township sunbury Township Adams Township Center Township Green Township Jackson Township Switzerland Township Salem Township Ohio Township Lee Township

In 1969 the Woodsfield Chamber of Commerce produced a Monroe County Ohio History. The majority of the information came originally from "History of Monroe County, Ohio", by H.H. Hardesty & Co., Publishers, dated 1882, newspaper files, and other individuals. It contains histories of most townships, Ohio River transportation, Oil, and Monroe's part in the Civil and Revolutionary Wars. The following links (and the imagemap links) go directly to those portions of this historical account.

Stock, Enoch, Elk and Union townships were part of Monroe County in the 1850's and became part of Noble County c 1851 or c 1860.